Expect the Unexpected

IMG_0805

Life will always throw you curves, just keep fouling them off… the right pitch will come, but when it does, be prepared to run the bases.
~ Rick Maksian

I had the strangest conversation today. I was given a list of instructions to follow precisely, which is what I was earnestly trying to do. But I encountered something that wasn’t on the list.

Now normally I pride myself on my deductive reasoning and logic. I can, most of the time, figure things out. I mean, seriously, I’ve put together Ikea bookshelves, for pete’s sake. I read mystery novels. I watch Criminal Minds. I should be able to do this.

After doublechecking the list, rechecking what I thought the problem was, I called my husband in to help solve the mystery. He was baffled, too. (Which of course made me feel much better about the whole thing!)

So we called the helpful number listed on the instructions. After explaining what we were doing and the problem we had — i.e., we had something that wasn’t included on the instructions– we asked what we should do. The woman instructed us that what we saw was wrong.

Um… but, see, I’m LOOKING right at it.

I described it. I listed the steps we had performed.

“Well that just shouldn’t be,” she said.

Wonderful. But, you know, there it is.

“Just remove it.”

“What?”

“Just remove it. It shouldn’t be there.”

“Okay, but it IS there. Do we just pull it off?”

“Yes. You’ll encounter some resistance, but just pull it off. Don’t pull off the other thing though.”

“What other thing?”

“The piece that should be there.”

“And which piece might that be?”

(People who know me, by the way, would have long fled the room by now given the tone of my voice…….)

“The one that should be there.”

“And how do I know which one SHOULD be there and which one SHOULDN’T be there?”

“Oh, you’ll know. You remove the one that should be there and that’s a problem. Trust me, you’ll know.”

“But, by then, it will have been REMOVED, yes?”

“Well, the piece that should be removed will be gone.”

“What if I remove the other piece.”

“Ma’am, you don’t want to do that.”

“Is there a way to tell BEFORE I remove it which piece is which?”

“No, but you’ll know. Trust me.”

*sigh*

[This post is #5 of 26 of the April A-to-Z Challenge. Please click on the button on the right side of the page for more information about the challenge or to locate others participating — there are more than 1600!]

Previous A-to-Z posts:
2012: Everyday Things
2011: Encouragement

2 Comments

Filed under April A-to-Z Challenge

2 responses to “Expect the Unexpected

  1. BWHAHAHAHAHAHA! I hope you removed the right piece and not the wrong piece because, you know, that would be bad. 😀

  2. It seems she was the textbook definition of clueless. Did you ever figure it out?

Leave a Reply

