National Escape Day

escape snail sxc

We are, perhaps, uniquely among the earth’s creatures, the worrying animal. We worry away our lives. ~ Lewis Thomas, The Medusa and the Snail, 1979

Last year on National Escape Day, I dreamt of escaping January cold and snow, of walking on a beach far away from the cares and troubles of daily life. I commented that perhaps I’d plan for next year’s Escape Day while staring at a photo of a beach on my computer. Little did I know that in just a few weeks time from that day, I would send off a resume that would bring more change, more “escape,” than I could have ever predicted.

So today, as I sit here in our new town, settling in to a new job, I know challenges and the regularity of daily life await just around the corner. But I’ll push those out of the way today.

It is going to be more than 70 degrees, in January.

I will escape for lunch outside, under a tree (unless it decides to rain!).

This year’s escape may be at just a snail’s pace compared to 2012, but I’m okay with that.

So escape away, enjoy the day, and let us know how, even for a moment, you got away….

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

