Happy New Year!

champagne bubbles

New Year’s Eve is like every other night; there is no pause in the march of the universe, no breathless moment of silence among created things that the passage of another twelve months may be noted; and yet no man has quite the same thoughts this evening that come with the coming of darkness on other nights.
~ Hamilton Wright Mabie

Happy New Year!

I hope this day finds you on the brink of a New Year filled with health and happiness, with love and joy, and with adventures as yet untold.

As you may recall from a previous New Year’s post, I am not a fan of making a long list of resolutions. Several years ago, I started using the one-word resolution and have discovered making a single word into an affirmation for the year works for me. It’s not everybody’s thing, I realize. But I just can’t bear making a list of things that most likely would not get done, no matter how un-optimistically I created it, and feeling oh-so-bad when they didn’t get done or when other things, things unrealized on January 1st, took their places.

So, one word it is. I hadn’t realized that I never discussed here my 2012 choice. Initially there was cause for that — my 2012 word was change. Change was needed, in many ways, and with that word as my mantra, I managed to make some significant changes — hence the new job and new state! Other smaller changes happened as well, but I think those two dominated the year!

Where am I for 2013 — on day 1? I pondered a lot of options: resilience, embrace, focus, commitment, grace. Given my extended absence from here and my other writing, write seemed a logical choice. As did discipline and growth. None seemed to settle right on the heart and mind, though.

Until, in the wee quiet hours of the early morning, when sleep was hard to find…… I found my word.

Discover.

1. To notice, especially by making an effort;
2. To learn something about;
3. To reveal or make known;
4. To obtain sight or knowledge of for the first time.

I shall discover things about the wonderful new town and state where I live.
I shall discover new things to learn, to study, to share.
I shall discover things unknown, big and small, about myself.

2013 for me, then, will be the year of discovery.

What might 2013 hold for you?

What’s your one-word resolution?

4 Comments

Filed under Life

4 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. I love your quote! I’ve copied it over into Evernote and will use it in my blog at some point!

    My word for this year is similar to yours – “curious”. Although after my quote in yesterday’s post, maybe it should be “making mistakes” (not one word though). 2011 was gratitude and 2012 was serene, both of which really helped me a lot. This year though, I want to try more things. Not sure what that means since I already did a lot of that last year, but I’ll work it out.

    Claudia has some great links for this:
    http://motherwifestudentworker.wordpress.com/2012/12/30/new-year-new-word/

    Also, here is Gretchen Rubin’s link, which is where i got the idea from:
    http://www.happiness-project.com/happiness_project/2010/12/choose-a-theme-for-next-year-maybe-even-just-one-word/

    Nancy

  2. Lynda, I have never heard of the one word resolution. I like it! I need a word… I guess I will be thinking on that as I go to bed this morning. Thank you!

  3. my one word resolution for 2013: “Prosper”

  4. Pingback: Adios 2013 | Second Memory

Leave a Reply

