Sliding Down a Rainbow

rainbow across cloudy sky over plains

Sometimes it’s important to work for that pot of gold. But other times it’s essential to take time off and to make sure that your most important decision in the day simply consists of choosing which color to slide down on the rainbow. ~ Douglas Pagels

*waving hi*

Hello, my friends!

My apologies for being away so long, but for the first time in 4 –yes, 4– weeks, I finally have a weekend with two whole days off! Each of the past 4 weeks, something work-related crept onto my weekend calendar. I’ve done two major road trips, both related to job and work things, each more than 1000 miles and done in less than 48 hours. One trip I was by myself, the second with my boss. I spent one Saturday with a lovely group of donors, about 65 or so folks, talking about their collection, listening to stories, and adding new materials. One week, my work hours totaled more than 80 (counting time spent on the road). And on Mother’s Day, I worked in our reading room all afternoon.

Please note these are not complaints, just facts. I’m thrilled to have a job that I love, especially in this economy. But every now and again, the calendar gangs up on me, and the past month, that has certainly been the case. Sometimes I just can’t avoid it; it just happens. But I’m always grateful when weeks or months like that pass into the “completed” category.

So today is for reading and rainbows, for time off and spending an entire weekend with my husband! I hear lunch and a matinée are on the schedule, as are getting out and enjoying the beautiful 80 degree day, complete with blue skies, that awaits outside our door.

I. Can’t. Wait.

Hope you have a wonderful weekend in store for you, and that you enjoy every possible moment of it that you can. Feel free to share your plans here; I love hearing all the creative things you peeps are up to!

Now go find a rainbow and pick a color ~ Happy weekend!

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “Sliding Down a Rainbow

  1. Wow. I hope you had a fabulous weekend, you totally earned it.

  2. Hi! Nice to hear from you again. I choose the octarine-colored strip, which is the color of magic in Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series.

Leave a Reply

