Roses in a Vase

Roses in a vase, photograph by Jane Reece

Yellow Roses in a Vase, by Jane Reece. Courtesy of Wright State University's Special Collections and Archives.

I’d rather have roses on my table than diamonds on my neck. ~ Emma Goldman

Since I recently did a post on photographer Jane Reece, I thought I’d share another of her photographs with you, since the beauty of that picture always takes my breath away. It’s an original, hand-tinted photograph Reece made around 1941. I love the simple coloring, the detail of the vase, the flowers, the wood behind them. It’s beautiful in its complex simplicity.

Roses are certainly beautiful, and I adore their scent. But I will admit to being partial to carnations as my favorite flower.

What’s your favorite?

[Note: This post is #18 of 26 of the April A-to-Z Challenge. Please see the button on the right of the page for more information.
Last year’s “R” post: Rain, Rain.]

1 Comment

Filed under April A-to-Z Challenge

One response to “Roses in a Vase

  1. Peonies. I used to think it was roses, and I still love them very much, but when I moved here there were several peonies in the gardens… Giant pom-poms of petals and glorious, room filling, scent. Love them!
    ~ Lynda

Leave a Reply

