Quack

Canadian Geese on our balcony

A flock of geese leave their lake and take wing, turning to poems in the sky. ~Dr. SunWolf

One of my favorite things about spring is seeing the return of wildlife to the area. Although I know a lot of people find them annoying, I love watching Canadian geese. There’s something lovely in their awkward waddle on the ground compared to their placid swimming and graceful flying.

These two quite large ones landed on our balcony wall the other day. I see them all the time around our parking lots. Two of them even nested on our community’s central patio area last year. But these were on our patio…. the one right outside the french doors in my kitchen.

What made it humorous, however, was that I had just said to our fur-faced child, Sulley, “Hey, do you want to got outside?” He had gone over to that same french door and was patiently waiting for me to come open it so he could go grab some sun time out on our balcony. In that 10-second delay before I reached the door, these two geese came a calling.

Here are my favorite shots:

our cat Sullivan and a Canadian goose

Big Goose, Little Kitteh

a goose at the door

A goose at the door

That was a quack-a-licious close call for the kitteh!

[Note: This post is #17 of 26 of the April A-to-Z Challenge. Please see the button on the right of the page for more information.
Last year’s “Q” post: Quiet Strength.]

1 Comment

Filed under April A-to-Z Challenge, Life

One response to “Quack

  1. You didn’t ask, but I think it is obvious, that geese are my preferred creatures. 🙂 I own three (all girls) and I am receiving 2 ganders by mail next week! Next spring/summer will be awesome around here.
    ~ Lynda

Leave a Reply

