Kerfuffles and Kaleidoscopes

kaleidoscope

The kaleidoscope of colour which is my life, shows the interesting choices I’ve made along the way. ~ Antie Koekie

Since I was having a hard deciding what to do for “K” today, I thought I’d share my explorations by passing along some of the interesting “K”-words I discovered in my hunting about……. with credit and a shout-out to one of my favorite word-lover’s websites, Phrontistery.

kainotophobia – fear of change
kalon – beauty that is more than skin deep
kazatzka – Slavic folk dance performed by a couple
keraunoscopia – divination using thunder
kippage – state of displeasure or anger
kit – a small pocket violin
kyrielle – string of short lines in stanzas all ending with the same word

Also, by some strange coincidence, some of my favorite authors are K’s as well:

Keri Stevens, author of the fabulous and highly recommended 2011 debut novel, Stone Kissed

Katrina Kittle (would that be a double-word score in Scrabble??), who always makes me laugh…. and cry…. and think in her books

Garrison Keillor — ‘nuf said Garrison Keillor booksigning

How about you — any favorite “K” words or authors?

[Note: This post is #11 of 26 of the April A-to-Z Challenge. Please see the button on the right of the page for more information.
Last year’s “K” post: The Kiss.]

1 Comment

Filed under April A-to-Z Challenge, Life

One response to “Kerfuffles and Kaleidoscopes

  1. sharkbytes

    I like knife, kangaroo, khan… I’m trying to visit all the A-Z Challenge Blogs this month from myqualityday.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

