Deerdar

deer near the woods

Friday Welcoming Committee

Man will have replicated his own intelligence not when he teaches a computer to reason but when he teaches a computer to have a nagging feeling in its circuits. ~ Robert Brault

My husband teases me about having a serious case of deerdar when I’m driving, especially to and from work. I often skip the interstate (and its crazy speeding and darting traffic) and take residential streets and back roads. I like the rolling paths as well as the scenery, the animals we get to see. At one corner, there is a flock of sheep that keep me entertained during the red light. At another, a small herd of cows are typically moseying their way to or from the barn. And yes, there are the deer.

Evidently I have some inner sense about the deer. I blame it on growing up on a farm and around large open areas where deer roamed freely. When we would go out on Sunday drives or over to the farm, we’d always keep an eye out for deer on the roads. As the navigator on our summer road trips, I’d try to help my dad spot things in the road. Now, as the primary driver in the household, it’s a safety issue. I don’t want to smack into one, not only because of the damage to our car, but because I don’t want to hurt the deer, either. Spotting deer is evidently a habit I’ve unintentionally cultivated over a lifetime!

I didn’t realize this had its own definition until my husband began calling it deerdar. Then I learned that it has its own definition page on Urban Dictionary! Deerdar: the ability to locate deer while driving down the road even if it is not yet in sight. Hmm. That’s me.

Actually, I think my inner deerdar applies to more than just locating the occasional Bambi that crosses my path. I rely on that sense of something out there, even if I don’t yet see or understand it. If questioned, I would argue strongly that I base most of my decisions on logic, information, and practicality. In reality, however, it is probably more out of emotional response than anything else. Woman’s intuition? Gut instinct? Both? Something else entirely?

I do trust my emotional response to things and have done so since childhood. One of my tests? If I can’t imagine it happening, it doesn’t. A simple example was my freshman orientation weekend to college. My campus used to take its freshman class on a weekend outing prior to the start of classes. Now I’ve never been a real fan of camping anyway and faced with camping out with a group of strangers, I wasn’t happy about going. But I lobbied my mother with my ultimate decision-maker: try as I might, I couldn’t envision myself at that place, doing those things. In the end, I backed out, didn’t go, and learned later that the weekend was plagued with large nasty mosquitoes and rain. Good decision. That’s an easy one, but there are so many times in my life I’ve used that measure to decide things: can I close my eyes and see me doing x, y, or z thing?

I’ve learned to trust my inner voice about things, whether it stops me from doing something or encourages me forward into something. Those little hairs on the back of my neck standing up. The nagging sense that something isn’t right. The inner voice that says “Yeah, do it!” or “Uh-uh, stay away.”

The gut-clench of first response.

My deerdar for living.

How about you? Do you listen to your “Deerdar”?

[Note: This post is #4 of 26 of the April A-to-Z Challenge. Please see the button on the right of the page for more information.
Last year’s “D” post: Delight.]

2 Comments

Filed under April A-to-Z Challenge

2 responses to “Deerdar

  1. Great new word for my vocabulary–I must develop my Deerdar.
    Thanks for the post at Creating Wordlenik.
    Will definately keep checking back as the challenge continues.

  2. lynn w. proctor

    yeah i believe in deerdar—but sometimes i confuse mine with plain old fear–great post

Leave a Reply

