Bookworm

The earliest picture I have of me reading a book

You know you’ve read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend.
~ Paul Sweeney

One of the earliest memories I can recall is reading a book. I don’t remember the book, but I remember watching my finger move letter by letter across the pages, feeling my lips move to form those letters into something my child’s brain could understand. I remember the act of “reading.”

My parents instilled that lifelong habit early. That’s me up there reading, most likely on a Saturday morning, since television came much further down the list of things to do than did books. My father, especially, loved to read, in part because he was a bachelor until he was 50, and reading occupied many hours in the evenings before he met my mother. Our house was filled with shelves and shelves of books, and many of my childhood friends treated our house like the local library. I was always happy to share my books. Even today, I lend books to friends who spy something on my shelves they want to read. When friends are sick, I load up a bag full of reading options along with a casserole or two to help speed their healing, or at least pass the time.

book cover of the Reader's Digest Treasury for Young ReadersMy husband can always tell when a book I’m reading is really good because he has to pull me out of its world and back into ours when he asks me a question. When we merged our libraries the first time, we were startled to discover we shared the love of one book so much that we had each kept our childhood copy all these years. What was it? The Reader’s Digest Treasury for Young Readers He had grown up just as much a bookworm as I had.

Nerd Quirk #157 live with the Beast to get his libraryMy husband and I chat occasionally about what we’d do if we ever won the lottery, as I’m sure many people do, especially when the winnings get as large as they did for last week. We started after we were first married planning what we’d do with our first million; now, fifteen years later, I think we’re up to how we’d spend our 17th or 18th million, if given the chance. In my vision, I’d have a room something like the library in Beauty and the Beastor the one in the painting The Bookworm (1850) by Carl Spitzweg.

Painting called the Bookworm by Carl Spitzweg in 1850

The Bookworm (1850) by Carl Spitzweg

But if I were going to fill such rooms, I’d need more books. I mean, really, I always *want* more books, but then I’d have the perfect excuse ~ there would always be shelves to fill!

In the meantime, though, I’d love to hear your suggestions. What are some of your favorite books?

[Note: This post is #2 of 26 of the April A-to-Z Challenge. Please see the button on the top right of the page for more information. Last year’s B post: Book of Her Heart.]

7 Comments

Filed under April A-to-Z Challenge, Reading

7 responses to “Bookworm

  1. That Paul Sweeny quote is perfect! I always feel a little sad when I finish a book. I even find myself missing the characters – like they were over for a long weekend and had to leave. I always thought it was just me. Thanks for sharing.

  2. First of all, thanks for commenting on my blog. It’s my first year in the challenge, and exciting to be a part of it.

    YES!! Love the quote. Great post. I started reading when I was three and have always loved it. I can’t say I’m as prolific a reader as I once was or would like to be, but I do enjoy getting lost in a good book as much as I did in my younger years.

    Some favorites that come to mind are from my childhood: Black Beauty, Call of the Wild, Silver Wolf, The Wolves of Willoughby Chase (yes, I had a thing for wolves for a while!), then later on, there was a Stephen King phase–loved Salem’s Lot. Jane Eyre sparked my love of romance and Victoria Holt’s romantic suspense fanned the flames. Lillian Jackson Braun’s team of Qwilleran and Koko had me laughing and guessing who dunnit for years. After college and 10 years in the motherhood trenches slowed down my pleasure reading, I’m getting back into it and enjoying all sorts of things. Indie authors often are diamonds in the rough.

    Looking forward to more from you!

    Mysti

    • Hi Mysti,
      Thanks for visiting! You’ve got a great list of favorites!! Like you, I certainly don’t get to read as much as I used to. I go to the bookstore and look at all the titles that I’ll never get to…. and then realize that doesn’t even begin to count ebooks! Great suggestions!

  3. Paul Sweeney’s quote fits me as well. Some books require a well-defined mourning period! I also fit the nerd quirk 🙂

    THere will always be more world than what I physically view when I have books to take me there.

    Favorites? Do you have a couple hours? Actually, I must confess, I’m not the best at remembering titles, I might remember stories or characters, but I do tend to move on, the temporary “love of my life” now resident in a forever playground in the recesses of my mind.

    • Hi Judy,
      What a great line and sentiment! And I’m the same way — I can tell you the whole plot of some books but never remember the title.

      Thanks for dropping by!

  4. cmleuck

    Well you’ve already read about one of my favorite books, Lynda! But whenever any friend asks for book recommendations, nearly the first thing I say is “Have you read ‘The Alchemist’?” I’m sure you’ve read it, as much of a book-lover as you clearly are.

    I also love Terry Pratchett’s ‘Discworld’ series. They are interesting and incredibly humorous, and more and more I find myself turning to books for humor and amusement to relax and unwind from the corporate workday or an evening of writing classes.

    I also have a soft spot for anything based on a fairytale, as well as Ray Bradbury’s short stories. Those two things are not related.

Leave a Reply

