Monday Moments: The Middle of the Night

moon and clouds

In a real dark night of the soul, it is always three o’clock in the morning, day after day. ~ F. Scott Fitzgerald

Anyone remember that Billy Joel song “River of Dreams”?

It’s a catchy little tune, especially when you’re up at 3 a.m.

In the middle of the night
I go walking in my sleep
From the mountains of faith
To a river so deep.

Do you ever have those nights when you’re tired but you can’t sleep? Sometimes I’m that way when I get ready for bed. So many thoughts twist and turn that it’s hard to fall asleep. Those nights are challenging.

But worse, for me, are the ones where you wake up, either from some strange dream or for no apparent reason at all (or because your cat decides what better time to play with Mom…….) When you’d like nothing better that to stay in bed, sleeping, but your mind won’t turn off.

Where you watch the digital blue colon separating hours from minutes flash over and over again.

Where the clock hanging on the wall in another room ticks off moment by moment by moment.

Yeah, those nights. 

In the middle of the night
I go walking in my sleep
Through the jungle of doubt
To a river so deep.

There are lots of reasons for me to be here in the middle of the night tonight. We’re starting a new quarter at work today, which means new classes (both taking and teaching). I’m in the midst of too many unfinished “to-do’s” both at home and at work. Running through plans for guests coming in this weekend. A new story idea that longs for attention I can’t give it right now. Anticipating a flurry of things that lie ahead. Missing long talks with good friends in far away places.

So here I am, sharing the middle of the night with Billy Joel and with you……..

We all end in the ocean
We all start in the streams
We’re all carried along
By the river of dreams

In the middle of the night.

How do you spend those middle of the night moments?

6 Comments

Filed under Life, Monday Moments

6 responses to “Monday Moments: The Middle of the Night

  1. Oh I have those nights often… it’s my reading time then. It has to be a book I’m really into and if I happen to be reading an okay-ish book, then I start another one that I think will absorb me completely. Then I keep reading until I feel sleepy again, even if I have a 10 minute shut-eye before the alarm goes off, I’ll be happy 😉

    • A good book does help! I *finally* got a nice bedside lamp that gives me enough light to read comfortably yet not so bright that it wakes up my husband…… Now to add to my stash of books on the nightstand!!

      Thanks for dropping by!

  2. I have those nights as well, Lynda. Sometimes my mind starts revving and I just can’t shut it down. (could it be…coffee?) Sometimes I’m worried or something bad is happening, but a lot of the time it’s just me. At least the cats have learned to leave me alone LOL. Oh, and THANK YOU for getting that song stuck in my head. LOL 😛

  3. I *just* had one of those nights! Absolutely hate them! I usually just lay there, sigh, turn over and over, pray, or cry. Sometimes I get out of bed and stare at the television.

    I found you through the A to Z Challenge. I hope you get enough sleep during April to get through the challenge!

Leave a Reply

