Spring Fever

road sign

It’s spring fever. That is what the name of it is. And when you’ve got it, you want – oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so! ~ Mark Twain

Don’t you just love that sign? My husband took that picture at an intersection not too far from where we live. Some days, as I wake up and look at my calendar, I envision the things littered across it as points on that sign, leading me in varied and mostly opposite directions.

Spring fever, indeed.

Such has been life the past two weeks, hence my absence here. It was the end of the quarter at school, so I was finishing up teaching my graduate class, with all the rush of students valiantly trying to finish their projects at the last minute. This week, thankfully, is Spring Break for us, and I get a moment to catch my breath. Oh yes, of course, and put the finishing touches on the two courses I teach during spring quarter, which starts next Monday! But I love it, the plotting and preparing of adventures for students.

And what’s with this weather? I can only hope that it has been as nice where you are at as it has been here in Ohio. We’re on the brink of setting a multitude of records, including record high temperatures, record high low temperatures, and consecutive March days above 70 degrees. It definitely feels more like summer than winter or early spring here. But the plus side is that the world around me bloomed nearly overnight with early spring trees and flowers everywhere! They pour their perfume across the spring breezes, through open windows, and on rays of sunshine. How can we not celebrate such glorious weather? We’ve been outside in the evenings enjoying the chance to sit outside when it’s not cold, not hot, and with few bugs!

Sullivan rolling on the patio

Sullivan enjoying the first day of spring.

My fur-faced child, Sullivan, loves being a “spring kitten” even as he passed his 11th birthday on St. Patrick’s Day. He goes outside on our patio and rolls around and around, basking in the heat of the sunshine.

Spring fever is definitely in the air — as legs and arms bare to the sunshine, as birds chirp and people chatter outside the windows, as trees look fuzzy green as the leaves prepare to emerge, and flowers of all kinds explode in a riot of color and smell. A welcome return of outside activities, warmth, and the promise of good things ahead.

How’s your spring fever?

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “Spring Fever

  1. Heh! I’ve got spring fever all right, but here in Saskatchewan there’s still piles of snow on the ground and it’s cold, hovering around the freezing point.

    Didn’t stop me from drawing out my flower garden plan for this year, last night. Flower Fever fast approaches.

    • Snow! The past 10 days or so, we’ve been setting record highs here, following a relatively mild winter. I’m not sure that bodes well for summer and fall, though, as it will either be extremely hot or set us up for a harsh winter next year. A weather optimist, I am not!

      I’m impressed that you draw out your flower garden! My luck with my whimsical flower selections varies dramatically….LOL…. and after last year’s lack of success, I’m definitely going to have to try something different this year. Any favorites you like to include?

Leave a Reply

