Leap Day

Cat in flight

Today is an ephemeral ghost… A strange amazing day that comes only once every four years. For the rest of the time it does not “exist.” In mundane terms, it marks a “leap” in time, when the calendar is adjusted to make up for extra seconds accumulated over the preceding three years due to the rotation of the earth. A day of temporal tune up!

But this day holds another secret—it contains one of those truly rare moments of delightful transience and light uncertainty that only exist on the razor edge of things, along a buzzing plane of quantum probability… A day of unlocked potential.

Will you or won’t you? Should you or shouldn’t you?

Use this day to do something daring, extraordinary and unlike yourself. Take a chance and shape a different pattern in your personal cloud of probability!”

― Vera Nazarian, The Perpetual Calendar of Inspiration

Happy Leap Day!

I’m so excited to have an extra 24 hours this year!

Poster for movie Brigadoon

Lots of lore and legend circulate about Leap Day traditions, but I don’t think I’ve ever really paid much attention to them. The one tradition that has developed in our household is watching the fabulous musical Brigadoon. My mom was fan of both Cyd Charisse and Gene Kelly, so it’s not surprising this story was one of her favorites. And there is something quite magical in a story about a whole town appearing only one day every one hundred years…..

How are you spending your extra hours?

Any fun Leap Day/Leap Year traditions in your family?

3 Comments

Filed under Life

3 responses to “Leap Day

  1. Lynda, I hate to admit that I never even thought about Leap Year in this way, and I think I just frittered the day away. I will have to take Vera Nazarian’s advice next time! Like your mother, this movie is a big hit for me too! I might like to make this a leap year tradition as well!

    BTW, is that your cat? It’s a great photograph! ~ Lynda

    • LOL Frittering is good! I try to claim the better part of a day on the weekends to do whatever strikes my fancy – sometimes with more success than others. The goal is to do something that makes you happy!

      I love that picture, too, but it’s one off a stock photo site I use from time to time (www.stx.hu Stock.xchange). Our fur-faced baby is a tuxedo cat.

  2. I wanted to do something memorable and I did, but it wasn’t what I expected. I wished a number of people at Happy Leap Day, surprising most all of them. And that is what made is memorable – starting a lot of people’s day off with a big smile, especially the gal in her car next to mine in Cracker Barrel’s parking lot.

Leave a Reply

