Monday Moments: Aromatherapy

lavender in the field

There are some things, after all, that Sally Owens knows for certain: Always throw spilled salt over your left shoulder. Keep rosemary by your garden gate. Add pepper to your mashed potatoes. Plant roses and lavender, for luck. Fall in love whenever you can.
― Alice Hoffman, Practical Magic

In my previous post, I wrote about how a particular scent can trigger a memory so real and complete that you can almost see it in front of you again. But as much as a scent can take you back to a certain place and time, the perfect scent can also take you to a different state ~ one of relaxation!

Aromatherapy is not a new concept by any means, but I had forgotten about the special powers of scent, especially, until a dear friend reminded me that using combinations of scents can help bring about that elusive state of relaxation, a place I too often don’t find time to visit. I tried different combinations to see what worked best for me, and I finally figured out that the best base scent to take me to my bliss, my cloud-space, is lavender.

These days around our home, I try to use subtle combinations of scents to shift my mood: the kitchen is home to basil and lemon, the bedroom lavender and vanilla, and in the office, where productivity needs the occasional push, my current favorites are peppermint and rosemary.

There are wonderful resources available on aromatherapy, and I recommend reading through this basic aromatherapy site for more information. It’s fun to try different scents and combinations to see what you like best.

So on this Monday morning, with just a hint of Spring in the air, what’s your favorite scent or combination? Any recommendations?

3 Comments

Filed under Monday Moments

3 responses to “Monday Moments: Aromatherapy

  1. Thank you for this post! It inspired me to share a memory on my site today. I gave you credit for the inspiration and a link back here. ~ Lynda

  2. Pingback: Once Upon a Time in the West: the power of a flower | Life on the Farmlet

  3. I do remember this post – this is around when I was trying to change over my E-mail address and my subscription to you must have fallen through the cracks.

Leave a Reply

