Monday Moments: Potluck

The term potluck comes from the traditional practice (not that it’s entirely unknown among us moderns) of never throwing anything away. Meal leftovers would be put into a pot and kept warm, and could be used to feed people on short notice. This practice was especially prevalent in taverns and inns in medieval times, so that when you showed up for a meal, you took the “luck of the pot.” ~ Ken at The Straight Dope

It’s that time of year, again.

Potluck season.

Didn’t we just finish with the summer potlucks? No?

Really??

*sigh* That’s what a girl gets for losing so much time this year.

I swear I was just fixing summer salads for our end-of-the-summer picnic potluck at work. Now it’s time to bring out the holiday potluck recipes, as between the two of us in our household, I think we could attend about 6 different parties in the next week! Yowza!

So, my perennial quest is for something easy yet stunning, fun and playful but really good. Something memorable, something people will request the recipe for, yet something that I don’t have to spend hours in the kitchen making.

*humming the tune for The Impossible Dream*

Yeah, right. There’s got to be something out there, yes?

Please?

Pretty please with whipped cream and sugar on top??

I know I squirreled away some holiday recipe finds on Pinterest, so I’ll go check there. Or I could look through one of the bazillion cookbooks on my shelves.

But I’d rather hear from you….. I know you must have some fantastic, amazing recipes that draw “oooh” and “ahhhh” comments.

What’s your favorite thing to take to a potluck dinner?

(Or, for that matter, what do you *not* like to see at a potluck?)

1 Comment

Filed under Life, Monday Moments

One response to “Monday Moments: Potluck

  1. pixilated2

    I once took a huge pot of soup to a potluck at a Chinese church… Apparently in their culture a little bit of soup (a cup) is an appetizer to the main course. Yeah, like I knew that? (LOL) Anyway, I love to make and consume massive quantities of soup or stew in winter. I do not find it a chore to prepare, and if done in a crock pot it is not hard to transport or to keep warm when you get there. (just be sure to preheat before you leave, and don’t forget the heat proof bowls or cups. 😉 ) ~ Lynda

Leave a Reply

