Monday Moments: A Magical Kingdom

20111127-232122.jpg

The picture I use for my profile picture here on the blog was taken in June 2010 while my husband and I were at Disney World. The 2010 Romance Writers of America conference was in full swing, but we snuck away for a quiet dinner over at Disney’s Wilderness Lodge to have an evening just for ourselves.

And we fell in love. Not just once again with each other, but with the location. Built to resemble Yellowstone Lodge in the early 1900s, the place is a masterpiece of wood, stone and trees. Like other things at Disney, guests are swept into the ambiance of wherever they are and become a part of the story. It truly is a magical kingdom.

So why am I writing this now? Because this fine Monday morning, I get to wake up there again. In the building that looks out on the building in the picture. I get to wake up here every morning this week.

I am on vacation this week as my husband and I are using our Disney timeshare for the very first time. We are Disney-philes, and would live here if we could arrange it. (Okay, even close to the area would be good…..) We honeymooned here, and it is without question one of our favorite vacation spots. Some of my happiest memories come from time spent here, including our visit last year.

After a crazy year, we are treating ourselves to a week in a magical land.

And for those curious how Thanksgiving turned out…. here’s a picture of our 38-pound turkey:

20111127-233006.jpg

I hope your Monday has some magic in it!

I’m off to see a Mouse…….

4 Comments

Filed under Life, Monday Moments

4 responses to “Monday Moments: A Magical Kingdom

  1. pixilated2

    38 POUNDS!?! I never knew they grew them that big! I see lots of turkey this and that in your future…
    As for Disney, didn’t he have a way with creating time and place? I’m thrilled that his gift of vision was passed on. BTW, I never even knew about this lodge. Last time I was there was in 1973 and DW was still pretty new then. Have a blessed week! ~ Lynda

  2. Holy mackerol, I thought our 25 pound turkey was big! Where did you get one that big?

  3. I hope you had a great vacation! It sounds like fun and I look forward to seeing some pictures and hearing more about it.

    Thanks for subscribing to my blog. I know you’ve read it from time to time, so this is really nice that you subscribed.

  4. Isn’t that thing amazing?? It was a 4-H turkey from someone that my brother-in-law knows.

    And while the turkey was terrific, we missed out on leftovers, since we were living just a day later…..

    Hope you all had a terrific holiday!

Leave a Reply

