Monday Moments: Plus One

My second birthday

Because time itself is like a spiral, something special happens on your birthday each year: The same energy that God invested in you at birth is present once again. ~ Menachem Mendel Schneerson

Yesterday was my birthday. Unlike last year’s weekend full of celebration, this year was spent far more quietly. In part, the quiet was because I had surgery last Monday, the second one on my hand, so my energy level is still rather low. But also, I think, because I needed to take some time to settle in to another “plus-one” birthday.

Last year was one of those milestone birthdays, you know the kind – the ones ending in a 5 or 0 that mark the passing of a set of years we’d often rather not remember. This one, then, was just that birthday plus one….. where you can still sort of fudge on check-boxes and forms about which age bracket you really belong in.

But also because of the strange path the year since last birthday travelled, it seemed somehow more important to reflect than have a party, to contemplate rather than out-right celebrate. Oh, my husband ensured that good times were had, as he lured me out of my inclination to be a cave-dweller and wish my hand better, taking me out into the sunshine for a day of his company. He knew far better than I that a day of laughter would do more healing than any magical thinking blowing out a candle might accomplish. So off we went to a favorite place for brunch and a bit of silliness at a local science museum. A much-needed day of laughter and joy. And of remembering why I am fortunate to have good friends and family so much a part of my life. You are the gifts in my life, and each conversation or connection is a present I cherish. So thanks for being a part of my world.

And there is reason to celebrate in addition to turning another plus-one. The surgery last Monday seems to have done some good and I am regaining significant use in the finger that proved so troublesome after the previous surgery. My fantastic surgeon and physical therapy team are on me, with therapy every day, to ensure it stays functioning and gets even better as the healing progresses. Amen to that!

So I laughed my way through my birthday, fondly remembering other celebrations from birthdays past – including my mother’s amazing ability to surprise me with a party even when I thought I was on to her.

Birthdays are special, even the plus-one days.

What’s your favorite birthday to remember?

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “Monday Moments: Plus One

  1. Glad you enjoyed your birthday. As my dad says, having another birthday is “better than the alternative.”

    I love getting older. My poop is getting so much better grouped, as I age! Assuming you’ve heard that saying … although I’ve reworded it so it’s practically unrecognizable, I guess.

  2. I remember reading this when you wrote it, but did not a response. Happy (belated) birthday – glad your hand is doing better too.

Leave a Reply

