Monday Moments: Sisters of the Heart

She is a friend of my mind. She gather me, man. The pieces I am, she gather them and give them back to me in all the right order.
― Toni Morrison, Beloved

September is International Women’s Friendship Month. It seems odd to me sometimes how we have grown accustomed to setting aside certain days or months targeted to special remembrances or celebrations. I walk down aisles of cards and see celebratory notions for holidays I didn’t even know existed! Yet it is important to set aside a time to remember and to celebrate those special things in life that sometimes get lost in the shuffle of everyday busy-ness. Hopefully the friendship of the women in your life isn’t one of those things!

I am blessed with sisters of many sorts. Although I don’t get to see my sister as often as we’d like to be able to, the love of family is constant, certain, and strong. The same sense of blessing holds true for the sisters of my heart, those fabulous female friends who make life more enjoyable, more bearable. A few of those women have been my friends since childhood, where small-town life cultivated friendships of common bonds and interests that have survived as we moved beyond its borders. Others have grown out of relationships at work, where eight or more hours a day are spent in shared space that has become shared lives, as day-to-day living can be discussed, analyzed, replayed, survived, enjoyed. The stuff that BFF’s are made of. Still others have become sisters in spirit, met via the wonderful world of the internet. Though we may never actually meet in person, these sisters are important parts of my days, as we share blogs, tweets, status updates, and other cyber communications that draw us together no matter where we are located. These spirit sisters encourage, support, joke, and share, sometimes offering more honestly heart-to-heart reality checks than face-to-face encounters can accomplish.

Finally, if you are very lucky, you also have very special sisters of the soul – those precious connections that happen at the soul-deep level, when from the first moment you meet, you recognize the connection of old souls and a friendship of a lifetime is (re)discovered, to be cherished. To have one of these sisters is to know you are truly blessed.

So today, even if just for a moment, be sure to celebrate the friendship of the women in your life. I don’t know about you, but I couldn’t do this without them!

What do your sisters of the heart bring to your world?

1 Comment

Filed under Life, Monday Moments

One response to “Monday Moments: Sisters of the Heart

  1. Loving this post. I do not have a biological sister, so I have adopted throughout the years 3 sisters who each bring something unique to our relationship. I have the confidente, the caregiver and the one with tons of moxie. The best part is we support and lift each other up!!!

Leave a Reply

