Time, Well Spent

“Love does not consist of gazing at each other, but in looking outward together in the same direction.” ~ Antoine De Saint-Exupéry

Today is our anniversary. When I wrote those words last year, this blog was only a few weeks old. It was our 13th anniversary, and I optimistically called the post, “Lucky Number 13.” Little did I know or suspect the happenings of the year which followed that post.

Both of us suffered at least one major medical issue. As noted in those early posts, my husband had a serious infection in his leg in August and September. He followed that up with a double retinal hemorrhage in December, which required surgery in January and several weeks off work. And if you’ve followed the blog for bit, you know of my “fun” in April of this year, when I severed both tendons in my right-hand ring finger, which required surgery, two months off work, and several months of intense physical therapy. There were a few other challenges as well, but those certainly seemed the focus of our attention.

Life went on around and by us, though. Good friends came through with anything and everything we needed, from rides to food to simple acts of kindness and friendship which brought no end of cheer to those rough days. Work continued with days both easy and difficult.

We’ve learned to make some changes in our lives, do things a bit differently, either by necessity or choice. And, to be honest, we are (or will be) the better for them. Doesn’t make them easier, though.

But “Lucky Number 13” I can’t say was all that lucky.

Except, that it was.

The health issues can and are being dealt with, as my husband continues to receive periodic shots in his eye to help the healing. (Yes, you read that right — shots *in* his eye. He’s the bravest man I know!) I’m gearing up for a second hand surgery, and I’ll find out in few weeks when that will be. We both have jobs, with excellent insurance, and in this economy, that trumps nearly anything else. And for all these things and so much more, we are truly lucky.

But most of all, especially in a year like the one just past, we have each other. We both consider ourselves very lucky to have married our best friend, the person we most enjoy spending time with, the person each of us would move heaven and earth to make happy.

So lucky or not, our year together was time well spent. And today, of all days, I know just how very lucky I am to be able to say “Happy Anniversary” to the love of my life.

Here’s to a calmer 14th…..

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “Time, Well Spent

  1. Congratulations on your anniversary! I hope you took time to celebrate good things.

  2. Yes, I sure hope your 14th year is better! Oh my!

Leave a Reply

