Adventures at the Fair

If you ever start feeling like you have the goofiest, craziest, most dysfunctional family in the world, all you have to do is go to a state fair. Because five minutes at the fair, you’ll be going, ‘you know, we’re alright. We are dang near royalty.’
~ Jeff Foxworthy

People-watching at county and state fairs is one of the best reasons to go. What a chance to relax and watch the world go by on the midway!

But this year, I had another reason to head to our local county fair – to enter some of my baking. Last year, two of my colleagues entered the county fair for their county and had great success. One even took best in show for her jam, and it was quite delicious! So there was a campaign to get more colleagues to participate this year. I figured it might be fun, so I decided to enter in the domestic arts/baking division.

The mini-exhibitor pass allowed up to five different items to be entered, so initially I decided to go for it an enter five. However, a distinct lack of canned pumpkin (who knew you couldn’t find it in July??) in the stores thwarted my efforts at making my grandmother’s pumpkin bread. In the end, I entered four categories: yeast bread (my honey-wheat loaf), zucchini bread, favorite bar cookies (my cranberry caramel crisps), and bundt cake (my lemon poppy seed). Although I didn’t take home any blue ribbons, I placed second with my yeast bread and my bar cookies. For a first attempt, I’m happy with that! And I’ve got a whole year to work on more recipes for next time.

I hope you have a chance to go to your local or state fair. If nothing else, go for the people-watching. Here are some pictures of our adventures at various fairs we’ve gone to the past few years. A great way to spend a day!

My second-place Cranberry Crisps
My honey wheat bread
My colleague, Leigh, took first place for her knitted adult sweater! Great job, Leigh!!
Food on the Midway, Greene County fair
One of my favorite parts of the fair – the Deeres!
The Canfield/Mahoning County fair near Youngstown is one of the largest county fairs in the nation!
Tasting the food at the fair is another great reason to visit! My brother-in-law Bob enjoys some corn at the Canfield Fair.
So is the chance to be a little silly! My husband gets his vegetables for the day…..
The butter sculpture at the Ohio State Fair is a “must” on the list of things to see at that fair.
The historical marker at the Ohio State Fairgrounds give a bit of history to fairgoers.
Checking out the various animals and livestock usually results in some interesting moments…….
2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “Adventures at the Fair

  1. anotherlist

    This looks super fun, and congrats on the ribbons!

    And come to my house if you ever need pumpkin. I stock up every fall to get me through the year. Last year the manager at Dot’s stopped me to ask what I could possibly be doing with that much pumpkin.

  2. Thanks! It was a fun experiment….. and I should have definitely raided your pantry! The closest I came was 1 dusty can of pie mix — so not what I needed. I shall become a pumpkin hoarder, I fear!

Leave a Reply

