Monday Moments: Summertime

summer grass

Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass on a summer day listening to the murmur of water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is hardly a waste of time. ~John Lubbock

With temperatures this week expected to be ninety degrees or above each day, there’s no doubt that the heart and heat of summer are here. While I may be an autumn person, there are some magical things about summer that bring enjoyment like no other season.

Hot, hot days followed by the long and cooling dusk of the evening.

Summer sunset

The smells of dry dirt, summer rain, mud and poolside chlorine.

Sticky melting ice cream, the snap of homegrown garden produce, juicy summer fruits, and the tart twang of freshly made lemonade.

Mown grass, campfires, and fair food.

So sit back and enjoy a bit of classic Gershwin “Summertime” by the fantastic Ella Fitzgerald while you share some summertime moments here on the blog this week.

What are some of your favorite summertime memories?

3 Comments

Filed under Life, Monday Moments

3 responses to “Monday Moments: Summertime

  1. Nice scenery.Thank you for sharing.

  2. Your writing is fantastic! I loved all the descriptions of summertime. Although I am an autumn person too, I love summer. Mainly because of the freedom from school, but I love the long lazy days. Currently I’m keeping occupied with attempting to cross items off my bucket list. My favorite memory this summer has been parasailing at the beach with two of my best friends. You can see a picture and read more about it on my blog! 🙂

  3. You speak pretty much like me, although I come from a place that is VERY hot and humid. In spite of the the obvious discomforts, I love the sun – and the coolness and closure of dusk 🙂

    Nice post!

Leave a Reply

