Quiet Strength

Quiet bench on a patio

“… in quietness and trust is your strength.” ~ Isaiah 30:15

I love the coming of Spring. Although autumn is my favorite season, the arrival of spring is a cause for joy. The smell of the earth coming to life again, the hopeful green of new growth pushing through the cold dirt, new leaves creating a green haze among the trees. It makes me want to pull up a bench outside, somewhere away from noise and work and everyday things, a place of quiet to breathe and perhaps come back to life a bit myself after the cold and grey of winter in the Midwest.

It’s during times like that where I can pause and reflect on the good things in my life, and fortunately there are many.  But in the hustle and bustle of the world, I occasionally forget to be grateful for those special things that sometimes get lost in the busy-ness of life. In an earlier post, I commented on the privilege of knowing many special people, individuals who make my world a far better place just by being in it.  As I paused today to share a moment of thanks for their presence in my life, I found myself thinking about what draws me to them.  The answer was a common trait – a quiet strength that carries them through each minute, every hour, all day, no matter what the world tosses at them.

Now that’s not to say they never have a bad day or a moment of doubt or a perfect life.  Far from it.  Rather, it is that their inner strength is such that it quietly, steadfastly supports them through those hard times and challenges, and that they share that quiet strength with the people in their lives.  They give far more than they ever take.  In a recent blog post, author Nancy Mehl wrote of her mother-in-law as an example of the concept of quiet strength: “I’m happy to guest on a blog about strong women. I’ve been fortunate to know several strong women and try to create resilient female characters in my novels. But recently I was made aware of a very special kind of strength. I call it quiet strength. It doesn’t ask for attention and will even slip past you if you don’t know what to look for.”

I was fortunate this past weekend to spend time with three of those very special individuals in my life who exemplify the trait of quiet strength.  To watch each of them tackle the challenges in their lives with strength and courage, with good humor and passion, and, most of all, with kindness and a gentle spirit.  To have the good fortune of sharing moments of our lives together.  And, to no surprise, I came away rejuvenated in spirit and in friendship, my soul like spring renewed, ever so grateful once again that these marvelous people have a spot in their heart for me.

Who are the people in your life who fill your spirit with their quiet strength?

[Note: This post is #17 of 26 of the April A-to-Z Challenge. Please see the button at the lower left of the page for more information.]

3 Comments

Filed under April A-to-Z Challenge, Life

3 responses to “Quiet Strength

  1. Nice post! I really loved this… They are my children and husband. Who else can touch my spirit and heart faster than they when I’m not praying?

    ♥.•*¨Elizabeth¨*•.♥

    • Hi Elizabeth,

      Your words are a great reminder of the most important things that give us strength, that are the source of our strength.

      Thanks for dropping by!

      Lynda

  2. Quiet strength. That’s a hard one. I’m not sure I have many people in my life who have this character trait. Most everyone around me is unstable. My kids because they are kids, my husband because he’s stressed at work, my parents because they have a certain kind of personality.

    My goal. To hold peace in my heart when everything around me is chaos. Not that I often succeed, but I try. This is a great post.

Leave a Reply

