the Kiss

The KissDusting off my bookshelves over the weekend, I found this book tucked against the side of the shelf.  It’s  a tiny book, measuring just a couple of inches on each side.

As I flipped open the cover, I found the inscription that I had penned inside, to celebrate my husband’s birthday on the first one we celebrated together.  That was a magical time, for it was after we’d been dating for several months and just a few months before he proposed.  My inscription went something like this:  In cherished memory of our first kiss, and all those kisses yet to be…..

The introduction of the book describes the kiss as “soft and reassuring as butterscotch…. it lingers on the lips and lives in the memory.  Talking about kissing is like humming about fire.  Words are insufficient to describe the experience.  Still we try, because kissing is an experience that must be shared.”

Try we do.  Seriously.  As a romance reader, I’ve read kissing scenes that melted my heart and ones that sizzled…..  As a romance writer, I try to capture those same sentiments.  The sweet softness of a first kiss.  The soul-drenching passion of a not-first-kiss.  Poets and writers and lyricists have all attempted to capture that feeling, transfer it to poem or book or song.

The little book I found is chock full of quotes from a variety of sources, all, of course, talking about kissing.  My favorite one is the one that reminds me of the first kiss I shared with my husband, the one that he says made him know that “we” were going to be together forever.  Near the beginning of our first date, I needed to step out of the room for a minute, and when I passed by him  “….then I did the simplest thing in the world. I leaned down… and kissed him.  And the world cracked open.” (Agnes de Mille, b. 1905, American choreographer and dancer)

What do you think — Can a kiss be captured in words?

[Note: This post is #11 of 26 of the April A-to-Z Challenge. Please see the button at the lower left of the page for more information.]

3 Comments

Filed under April A-to-Z Challenge, Reading, writing

3 responses to “the Kiss

  1. WOW! Thank you for sharing this. It’s funny you write about this book, because I just found it on my bookshelf too.

    I think that a kiss is something that is the most intimate thing that two people can do. I think that people have taken a kiss for granted, but also think that it sends a message to the person on each end, assuring them that they are loved, wanted and needed.

    As for wondering if a kiss can be captured with words, I don’t think so…I think the kiss is a type of a “universal” sign of love…

    Great post! 🙂

  2. How fun that you have this book as well! I like your description, especially that it sends a message. So true!

    Thanks for dropping by!

  3. WOW~ So beautifully written!

Leave a Reply

