Jabberwocky

pumpkin head

`Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe:
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe.
~ Lewis Carroll, Through the Looking-Glass

Nonsense.  Glorious Nonsense. In all the years since I first heard this poem and story as a child, I’ve delighted in its nonsense. The wordplay, the creativity, the simple fun of it delighted me growing up. It charms me to this day.  And in some ways, it is very freeing to me as a writer.

One of the hardest things about my writing –about me, writing– is my internal editor.  I have a heck of a time drowning out the poor sot, who works so hard to try to keep me in line.  I always think of my internal editor as a “he.”  No good reason for that, I just do.  When I hear that voice in my brain, it’s always male, dark, and very, very determined to slow me down.  Admittedly, his suggestions are good, but when I’m working on my “vomit” draft, I don’t want to hear him!  [Note: the first draft that leaves my fingers got termed a vomit draft by one of my favorite professors, who said her own first draft of anything is not worthy of being called even a “first” draft, hence the terminology I have so boldly stolen.]

But Jabberwocky gets me through it, gets me to lock my internal editor behind the door of nonsense so that I can get the story out.  His job will come later.

So in honor of a wee bit of glorious nonsense, I did some hunting and found a few other J-words just for the fun of it, courtesy of The Phrontistery:

jargoon: a brilliant pale or colorless zircon

jocoserious:  half in jest; half serious

juglandnacious: of, or pertaining to, walnuts

And those are just some of the “J” words from the site…. you’ll have to explore the other 25 letters!

In the meantime, care to share some of your Jabberwocky-ness?  We’d love to hear it!

[Note: This post is #10 of 26 of the April A-to-Z Challenge. Please see the button at the lower left of the page for more information.]

Leave a comment

Filed under April A-to-Z Challenge, writing

Leave a Reply

