Front Row Living

Women on coaster with multiple reactions

You can choose to live your life with the joy of the front row or solemness of the third row. The choice is yours. ~ Author Unknown

I found this photo while browsing around Pinterest several weeks ago. The archivist in me loved it; it’s one of those everyday moments I wrote about yesterday, a moment captured in time. I adore the concept that these women, in what looks like their Sunday-best dresses and hats, are riding a roller coaster. I would love to know the story behind this picture.

But the expressions of the women and the perfect caption that goes with it also struck me on a personal level. It’s so true that we forget the simple joy in living, in experiencing the moments of life. I know a lot of “third-row” people, those who even in a moment of fun, simply can’t crawl out of their own shell to enjoy an experience, to find pleasure in life. And I know I have days like that, where things go wrong, or I have to do things that I don’t like or want to do, where I am not enjoying life in the moment. But I know those “third-row” moments are fleeting. Can you imagine living your life that way? I can’t. But I know some who do…….

The women in the first row are women who enjoy life, who can find the pleasure in the moment. And it is really about “finding” the pleasure. Sometimes it hides or takes some digging to uncover. But if you enjoy life, you are likely to discover pleasure where others may not. Even if it means having your slip show and dang near losing your hat.

It is a choice. In all honesty, I’m more the second-row woman in the hat with the slight smile.

So how about you — what’s your row of choice?

[Note: This post is #6 of 26 of the April A-to-Z Challenge. Please see the button on the right of the page for more information.
Last year’s “F” post: Farm Girl Meets Farmville.]

7 Comments

Filed under April A-to-Z Challenge

7 responses to “Front Row Living

  1. This is great! After your comments above I took a closer look and it made me feel sorry for the ladies in the third row…

    Most days I am a second row sort, with forays into the first row! ~ Lynda

  2. Jumping Puddles

    front row all the way…as a wise person once said, ‘life is not a spectator sport!’

  3. Pingback: Actually, I’m jealous | The Tromp Queen

  4. George Crooks

    Unfortunately these views of older women we men don’t seem to get now. ,even older women more and more are wearing jeans etc. This spoiling it for we men .My mum would wear those sort of undergarments and stockings and think nothing about it if they wear showing. Need more clips of this on pinterest.

  5. kathy

    hi.

    there is a bit of a story behind this photograph. you can find it by searching for the photographer, grace robertson. the photo is called “on the caterpillar”.

    hope this helps and that you are safe and well and away from covid-19 and other awful things.

    someone in iowa/usa

    • George

      Reminds me very much of the way my Mother dressed and was not ashamed to show a bit petticoat and knickers from time. Sadly all those sensuous and attractive ladies and their undergarments unfortunately gone. As a lot of women like my wife are jeans and trousers ,gone are the days when you could get glimpses of petticoat’s/ stockings and suspenders stocking tops girdles silky nylon knickers.

  6. George

    Think my Mother was a front row person as you say she liked her slip showing and liked to trade and flirt. I’m also a front row person I think I always took the advantage to look. Don’t you agree?

Leave a comment